“After two days in the hospital, I took a turn for the nurse.” – WC Fields

wickedicked

I know some of you are more interested in my diagnosis than my hunger pains and ever spiraling love of “12 Corazones” on Telemundo (Wikipedia: The show is hosted by Penelope Menchaca and features advice from co-host Edward’O, a flamboyant Nicaraguan astroanalyst).


Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, 2B


PET scans show no additional activity besides the original CT scans – mass is isolated to upper abdomen with small growth above the clavicle on either side of my neck. These small branches classify it as a Stage 2. Apparently, this type of mass is quite big taking up 60% of my chest cavity. It is also quite hard – the radiologist bent two needles – but these conditions are not alarming.


The “B’ represents the presence of certain symptoms, including night sweats, more than 10% loss of body weight and extreme sexiness even when the patient’s head looks like a Macy’s Day Float.


Bone Marrow biopsy has not shown any additional cancer cells. Which is great news.


I have SVC Syndrome (Superior Cava Syndrome), which is an obstruction of the blood flow from my head and arms into my heart. This is causing blood clots all the way up my jugular, which will be treated after we get the mass to breakdown. Time TBD. These blood clots pose no immediate threat to my heart or brain.


Also, I’ve got some restricted airflow but my lungs, heart and breathing are registered as normal. I just won’t be running any marathons soon.


Tomorrow (Thursday), I’ll get the results of one final biopsy which will more exactly determine what the mass is made out of. Hodgkin’s is kind of rare and has numerous characteristics involved and my oncologist wants to be absolutely definitive in his diagnosis before we begin chemo. I think he also likes having me around.


There are lots and lots of web sites available on line with information about my condition. Most of which are written by Swedish bloggers.

The important thing is that this is an extremely treatable condition which responds very well to chemotherapy treatment. My summer is going to suck. And I look forward to keeping in touch with all of you and seeing you again soon.

Leave a Reply

