Donations

Donation

About 3 days after I got back from the hospital, a letter arrived in the mail from The Cancer Research Institute. My first thought was “How’d they know already? That is one really good research institute.”

Every year, Jen and I give money to charity for Christmas (this doesn’t make us better than you, it just makes us quietly smug to ourselves). This past year, I gave money to The Cancer Research Institute in the names of one of my best friends and my uncle who have spent the past 2 years fighting cancer. The Cancer Research letter was asking for additional donations. Hmph.

But I digress.

I’ve gotten a lot of great gifts over the past 3 weeks. I’m not going to compare them here. Let’s just say that this summer I am going to be one well-dressed, snarky T-shirt and  pajama pants wearing bald dude with a bad-ass head wrap and lots of great music to listen to, a pile of amazing books to read and some awesome DVD’s to watch.

And I thank all of you very, very much.

But I don’t deserve your gifts. These people do:

Their website provided my family with a lot of much needed information – the kind of information I should probably have gotten while I was in the hospital but didn’t. And I have had many people refer LLS to me for support groups, information and advice.

It seems like everywhere I go these days, I see ways to donate to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. At Wahoo’s Fish Tacos, at Lebowski Fest. Its one of the many things that I just didn’t notice before. I think they are following me. I think they are trying to tell me something.

If you are motivated enough to send me a gift – or even if you’re not – I ask you to put your time and hard earned money into a donation for LLS.

Or give to another cancer organization.

Or clean out your closet and donate clothes to Goodwill.

Or give another 50 bucks to the charity you give 50 bucks to on Christmas.

To make it easy for you, I already have 3 friends who are running marathons or relay races to support cancer research. I’m putting links below (in alphabetical order so pick randomly) and you can pick which person you’d like to donate to. Easier than ordering lunch.
Tonya Bertino Team In Training

Victoria Massengale Team in Training

Heidi Ryder Relay For Life

Most of you Radical people are off the hook I see…yes, I am keeping notes on all of you.

Thanks to all of you for your continued love and support.

7 responses to “Donations

  1. Wow, thanks for linking to my donation page, Steve! Very rad of you to do so. Sorry I couldn’t meet you today, hopefully we will see you at the next day trip.

    I’ve been keeping up with your blog. I admire anyone who can face something like this with a sense of humor. My sister-in-law was the same way when she was diagnosed with colon cancer…I feel sorry for myself when I get a hangnail, so it’s inspiring to see how the other half live.

  2. thinking of you. i need to find some sort of race out here to do. i know that clare mentioned it to me that she wanted to do a half marathon or something like that. i really enjoy reading your blog. it is sort of weird to say that considering the subject matter but i enjoy your sense of humour and your perceptions just about healthcare and life. i agree it is not worth sweating all the stupid shit. we forget that sometimes so thanks for reminding us readers and friends to be more positive and thankful.
    love lots….

  3. Wonderful entry, Son. Not surprising because this is you and Jen. Extremely caring, thoughtful, generous! To Everyone, the Cancer Society is one organization that truly gives back to the Cancer patients in their research, compassion and caring. Learned first hand when I reached out to a support group during my brother in laws (Steve’s uncle) fight. They were wonderful to me. In fact, we are having a fund raiser in Philly for head & neck cancer research this weekend. Dig deep in your pockets and give, give, give. I’ve seen first hand how generous and caring all of Steve & Jen’s friends are….it’s fantastic! This will definitely be money well spent! We love you Stephen & Jen!!!

  4. old birds on Bird Street

    Hi Steve, We like the new site. Thanks for keeping all of us updated. Count us in on the donations. How about we all “pay it forward” a little, too.
    Jen, tell Steve he has to put that beautiful picture of you back up on this new site.
    Love you both.

    • Jen is here. She’s just shy. I reposted all the old posts from my old website. You have to go to Archives or scroll way way down on the main page to find them.

      I couldn’t get rid of that picture of Jen. Its too beautiful.

  5. Steve, thanks so much for putting my link up on your blog. Race day is a mere 2.5 weeks away. I’ll be thinking about you the whole way!!!

    Much love to you!

Leave a Reply

