Chemo boy update

For those of you following this story, the mother has kidnapped the boy and not shown up in court.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090519/ap_on_re_us/us_forced_chemo

The boy is in pain around the port in his chest and the tumor has grown back to its original size. After 1 round of chemo, the tumor had shrunk. But the mother and father decided to take him off of treatments and use only holistic treatments.

I’m all for holistic treatments – I am seeking some myself. But only as additonal support for the chemotherapy. With a success rate of 90%, I believe it would be foolish to turn down chemotherapy and radiation. Yes – the side effects and long term effects scare the s*it out me. But it is a calculated risk. A decision that I am forced to make – I am given a situation and the only control I have is how I choose to treat it.

If I had a different form of cancer – one with much lower success rate – then the scale would be tipped and holistic treatments would probably seem like more likely options. Given a 20% chance of a cure based on chemo/radiation and/or holistic treatments, it seems like either one is an option. But having a 90% success rate – well, that certainly changes things.

Again, I am lucky. Lucky that I have a condition with such a high success rate.

Daniel Hauser is also lucky – but only if his mother finds clarity somehow.

One response to “Chemo boy update

  1. yeah, when belief systems like that interfere with welfare it’s strange. Anyway, I didn’t connect this story to the one tv.

Leave a Reply

