Well, this sucks

I am somehow stuck in the longest weekend of my life.

I came in the hospital on Wednesday, got my PICC line inserted that day and eagerly anticipated chemo on Thursday. The first night went pretty well – no reactions to speak of.

I get different amounts every day. And on Sunday I had a bad reaction to something. My blood pressure plummeted and I’ve been fighting low grade fevers. I’m through the chemo – now I’m just here for observation. I thought I was going to go home yesterday, then today, now tomorrow. They don’t want me to leave until they figure out what’s causing the low fevers.

With that in mind, the doctor told me that my blood cultures should show an infection. But they might not. They thought they were going to pull the PICC line, in case that was causing an infection. But wouldn’t that show up in the blood cultures? Or not? I love doctor speak where they manage to say 3 things in one conversation with no definites.

Now, I’m trying to rest up. Fighting some low grade nausea on and off. Still getting some antibiotics.

Hanging in there until tomorrow….I hope.

13 responses to “Well, this sucks

  1. As Dr. McCoy would say, “barbarians!” They just need to check your dipstick.

    You’re in my prayers, buddy.

  2. Wow, doesn’t sound like fun. I’m sure it sucks a whole lot to be there, but likely better in the long run that they figure out what’s going on. Thinking of you and sending you and Jen strength…

  3. Oh Poop. Sorry to hear you’re stuck there for the next few days. Let me know when you’re home and ready for some comfort food… I’ve got a recipe for chocolate chip cookies that is screaming your name.

    Lots of love, prayers, and sunshine coming your way.
    xxoo

  4. You know, there is this thing that’s on the right side of the page saying I can check dickter’s bedpan everyday. In all honestly, I’d really rather not. I’d rather you be home or at work and bored or with Jen and not bored. And then get to hear from you when something crazy has happened with the Cowboys or Eagles or Scott Jones. Soon…soon…

  5. Stepanski – THINKING OF YOU AND JEN OFTEN.

    I LOVE DICKBERRY!

    XXXXXX, CD

  6. Sounds like a lot of “definite maybes”. Maybe you need a cattle prod for the doctors? They’re only $59.99 at Tractor Supply and sometimes they are in the store, on the shelf, charged up and ready to go!

    Keep giving ’em heck!
    -M

  7. Stop being so damn lovable so the doctors and nurses stop hogging you for themselves. Hope you made it home by now. xx

  8. i love how Bavonator manages to work “cowboys” and “eagles” into every conversation. Missing all you fools in Croatia

  9. Hey, thanks for putting up this blog. I found out less than a month that I have a 12cm tumor in my chest, and that it’s Hodgkins. I start chemo on Monday, and am not really sure how to approach this illness. Reading your blog has been instructional, up-lifting, moreover …real. Sending good thoughts your way, and cheering for you!

  10. steve and jen,

    we are WITH you both. sending our love across town, straight down sunset boulevard. your constant presence during Pablo’s treatment was a constant light in our lives – we are reflecting that light back to Steve right now.

    love,

    jeff and jo ann

  11. I just went through the same thing after cycle 1 of chemo. I was febrile and had to go to ED or ER as you call it over there. And yes, there might have been an infection, there might not have been…course of anti biotics…
    It’s not the chemo but those days afterwards that are scary… with me they thought I had the fever because my body was reacting to injection of that drug that stimulates red blood cells. And that my blood samples which showed there was a bug was actually a contaminated sample because 2 vials showed bacteria and the other 2 didn’t!

  12. Do you feel your picc line? I keep feeling mine. And am now convinced it’s infected but I guess hypochondria is part of the journey isn’t it. I really feel it at the insertion point and the blood has dried up in the line. I guess i get it changed when I go in the next couple of days. Ahhh the wait. No hospital beds here. Doesn’t make a difference that I have private health insurance. For serious illness it’s best to go through public system here.

  13. I don’t ‘feel’ my picc line. You mean, inside of you? It can move around a bit, but you shouldn’t ‘feel’ it. Did they give you specific instructions with your type of PICC? They gave me a pamphlet and follow up instructions about how often to flush, when to change caps, etc. If it is infected, that is a really big deal and can be fatal. You want to make sure that is is clean, dry and being taken care of as often as needed. My dressing and caps get changed every 7 days (every 2 days when I’m in the hospital). And different nurses have different methods, but I have my favorites who do it properly. If it runs slow or they can’t draw blood, then they should inject a little heparin into the line to keep it from clotting. I’m also on blood thinner to prevent clotting (but I’ve got clotting issues).

    Hit me up for any advice or help. I sent you a direct email. feel free to email me, too.

Leave a Reply

