My biggest fan

Jen and I don’t have kids of our own. But we have the next best thing – our neighbor’s kids. Eliana is 2 and Ezekial is 3. We see them all the time. We yell to them off the balcony (or they yell to us “Tio! Tia!”). Paola and Fidel (the parents) are dear friends of ours. Fidel was working in the ER when I went in last year for my chest x-ray and diagnosis (but I don’t hold it against him).

The Double E’s are adorable and fun and sweet and silly and loving and everything you could want in your kids.

Ezekial is my biggest fan. He comes over to play Wii bowling and always wants to show me his new Spider Man shirt.

The other day, I showed him my new haircut. He touched my bald head and told me he liked it. I was a little afraid of scaring him with my shiny cabeza, but he didn’t seem to mind.

Sunday morning Paola called and told us that Ezekial wanted to show us something off the balcony. “Tio! Tio! Look look!” we heard from outside.

Looking down from above, we could see little Ezekial, patting his newly shaven head. “Look Tio! I got a haircut just like you!!”

Silly little guy. I’m completely flattered. Not only by the love of my little 3 year old buddy, but also by his parents who let him buzz his hair down to look like me.

I’m totally touched and honored.

I’ll do you proud, little buddy.

And then my friend Billy made this – the next logical step:

Dr. Stevel

And the support continues…thanks Brett. Now go buy a hat, your head will be cold in London…

Bald Bavo

A surprise visit from a freshly shaven Cee Dub today. Colin – may your white pencil always stay sharp, my friend.

(That sounded dirty)

Local 600 solidarity.

34 responses to “My biggest fan

  1. sooooooooo cute!!

  2. that is so freaking awesome. and inspiring. you both look great with your shiny cabezas!

  3. How great!! Tell Jen I said Great Pics!

  4. I think you look very handsome with the new head. The pictures of you and the children are adorable.

  5. Great!

  6. Obviously, all the cool kids are shaving their heads! Some people go their whole lives without ever connecting with a child that way – kudos to you, Steve. When a kid shows such strong empathy, it gives us hope for the entire next generation.

  7. That is the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen!

  8. So awesome and freaking adorable.

  9. That is precious. I can tell he loves you so much.

  10. Jerk Brookbank

    LOVE IT!!!

  11. that’s the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen / heard in all my 105+ (dog) years
    * woof *

  12. these pix rock – Go Steve.

  13. Wow, I am so proud of my lil nephew! He amazes me at how thoughtful & smart he is! I know that he really loves & thinks the world of his Tio Steve & Tia Jennifer. I’ve had some tough competition with you two ;o)
    Keep your spirits up Steve & keep fighting! I’m so happy my nephew has shed some happiness in your lives! Rest assured that you are in our prayers!!

  14. You look hot! Maybe the cute kid hanging off you helps too! Matilda and I are sending our love your way and we can’t wait to see you. Matilda loves bald men, her yayo is one of her favourite people in the world and he has almost no hair (although the bushiest eyebrows ever!). Thinking of you always. xxx

  15. Steve,

    that is such a lovely story – you’ve made me cry! You both look fantastic. Bless his little heart for doing that. Lots of love to you all. XX

  16. P.S. I hope you don’t mind, but i’ve forwarded that onto Mum, she often asks how you’re doing. X

  17. You look great with a shaved head, and its so good to see you in such high spirits

  18. You two are very SEK-ZI!

  19. Tio, Just want to say that you deserve a buddy like EZ and his sidekick, Ellie. I’m a friend of their Mom and Dad, and just wanted to tell you to fight the good fight.
    I’m walking the Disney Half Marathon for Leukiemia/Lymphoma society and will add your name to my honored teammates.
    Lost my 16 year old nephew to Non-Hodgkins 7 years ago. He was a hero too. Also spent some years here at Childrens as Lymphoma coordinator and liked and learned from your candid observations and comments.
    Thanks for a chance to laugh a little and cry a little about life. I need to remember to take more time to do that.
    All the best to you and your wife. I’ll pray for you. It’s what I do.
    A fan.

  20. Steve,
    That’s a great story. Thank you so much for sharing with all of us. You guys look great in the pictures.

  21. Krys De Scribner

    Steve,
    Hi. I am a high school friend of Jenn and am also close friends with Paola. I have been following your blog from the beginning and wanted to tell you that you and Jenn are an inspiration!! Your honesty and outlook on your diagnosis and treatment is amazing!! This particular blog brought tears to my eyes. EZ is lucky to have such an amazing “Tio” in his life. The love of a child is pure and endless. What a blessing you all have each others love and friendship. Thank you for sharing so much of your experience and journey. You both have been in my prayers since the beginning.
    Krys De

  22. It is so nice to see a man so loved! I LOVE YOU TOO!!!! 🙂

  23. Steve and Jen, I laughed and cried at the same time, as many other people did. This truly is a special gift from a little innocent child. The love the Double E’s and their parents have for you and Jen and you for them is very very special. A child’s heart is a very special place. Can’t wait to see all of you in September! Thinking of you as you go in for Round 2. Blast those damn cells!!! Love, Mom

  24. SERGIO & ANA AMALIA

    Yes,…… they are so special.
    Our three “little” kids are now wiht 29, 28 and 25…. can you imagine that!!!
    And they still make a difference in ours life.
    We all miss You & Jen. All the best.

  25. man, this story is even cooler cuz I was lucky enough to meet those wicked cute kids during my visit to see you guys in LA a while back. I’ve witnessed the shouts of “Tio!” and “Tia” from the balcony at y’all’s place. Love it. Hope to be hanging with y’all again in October, baby!!

  26. Scott shaves his head for you once a week! okay, okay, maybe he’s been shaving it for years…….But, we’re representin’! I told him there’s no way I’m shaving my curly locks, so he’s started shaving more frequently to make up for my lack of passion and commitment.

  27. I scare myself every time I look in the mirror now dude! Who the hell is that guy!!!!????!!!!! It sure as hell ain’t Jean Luc Picard, that’s for sure!

  28. LOVE is bigger than all the crap. What a great friendship you and EZ have! What a beautiful post!

  29. Oh, this is the best thing I’ve read in a long long time. You both look great!!!

  30. Oh man..I am so tempted…….

  31. Ahhh! This rocks. Makes me tempted to shave my own head. I love that you have so much love in your life!!!

  32. Dr. Steevel.. my stomach hurts from laughing.

  33. Pingback: Beeping | A Mental Journey » jenberry photography

  34. So beautiful and touching. Thank you for writing about your journey through cancer – it is a brave thing, and I know that it will help many people overcome cancer as well.

Leave a Reply

